top of page
  • Writer's picturelinnamoncinnamon

Good Girls Season 1 Review

Not your ordinary crime show.



Spoiler Alert! (I will try to attempt to keep them to a minimum).


The show follows 3 women who turn to crime to save themselves from their financial troubles. Unrealistic scenario but each of their personal situations are realistic - it could be any of us. They are good wives and mothers, so their action of turning to crime makes us question our morality. What would it take for us to do something significantly bad? Is it a bad thing if it’s for good intentions/the greater good? How much of a bad situation would we have to be in to do something bad?


Philosophical questions aside, this show takes what sounds like a cliché trope into a fresh and exciting story. Each episode ended on a cliffhanger, and I eagerly clicked for the next one. The dialogue was well written and all of the characters are well developed. The actors brought each character’s motivations to life, making the storyline all the more captivating.


Downsides?

1. I feel like it took forever for me to learn the girls’ names, even though they were mentioned throughout the season. Truth be told, I was more focused on plot and character struggles than names but is it a good thing not to fully remember their names until the season is halfway through? Probably not, although content more than makes up for my questionable memory. hate

2. I hate Boomer. So so much. He’s great for plot but I hope something bad happens to him next season (cause he essentially got away with attempted rape… in my book, that’s worse than exchanging fake money for real money).

3. We never really got to know how they all became this tight knit group (i.e. how Ruby became friends with the sisters). Not all that important but it would be nice to have had a flashback scene.

What I wish I could see more of: Rio and Beth! At first I wasn’t sure if I was sensing any sexual/romantic tension between them but now I’m sure. I was anticipating for Rio and Beth to start aggressively kissing at some point while staring intently into each other’s eyes… but sadly that didn’t come to pass… yet.


Overall Thoughts

Drama that handles itself in a sophisticated manner, funny remarks every so often in each episode and interesting plot. Everyone is unique, but what fascinated me most is the friendship between Beth, Annie (the two sisters) and Ruby (who might as well be their sister). They’re all so strong and confident in their own ways yet just as vulnerable. And this balance of characteristics makes them relatable, even if the story behind it isn’t too realistic. Worth a watch if you like drama, crime and/or confident women. Definitely looking forward to season two.

8 views0 comments
bottom of page