top of page
  • Writer's picturelinnamoncinnamon

Reputation Album Critique


Truth be told, the first time I listened to the magnificent Reputation album, I wasn't feeling it. Perhaps I was still stuck in Taylor’s old eras, and wasn’t ready for change. I liked the first few songs, but as it progressed, my reaction was “meh” (I know., shocking). However, now I find myself yearning for the powerful emotions Reputation brings. Pure genius, stunning craftsmanship of lyric and sound. We get a look into how Taylor views the media’s perspective of her… and how she doesn’t care. She is powerful, above all that drama, and this album proves it. The album builds on the pop of 1989 - this time, its bolder, bigger, capturing a multitude of feelings that, are innately relatable. She embraces her sexuality - in a classy way. This makes the album all the more meaningful - less angry breakups, more passion, hope, and of course, reputation. We must ask ourselves: is Taylor a villain? Victim? A mix of both? These questions formulate as we listen through Reputation. No matter what you think about her, like a phoenix, Taylor is rising up (though not out of the ashes because Taylor could never be in the dust). This album is not old Taylor Swift’s death - it is rather a rebirth, a transformation.


… Ready For It?

Brilliant start. I feel like I’m getting ready for something big. James Bond anyone? The beat starts, and I’m suddenly in a spy movie. Or intense runaway? Yes Taylor, I am ready for it. It ignites us on our journey through the Reputation album.

Favourite Lyrics: But if I'm a thief then/He can join the heist/And we'll move to an island


End Game

This song certainly has a big reputation - and it’s living up to it. Probably a collaboration no one saw coming - Tay and Ed, sure. Throw Future in there? Now here’s a song that goes waaaay beyond Love Story Tay Tay. Starts off sweet, then BAM! You’re head in swagger filled lines about her reputation. This song WILL get stuck in your head. No matter what. To conclude? This song and I are end game.

Favourite Lyrics: And I can't let you go, your hand prints on my soul/It's like your eyes are liquor, it's like your body is gold


I Did Something Bad

Exploring a darker pop sound? Loving it. Taylor comes in blazing with this track. Best lyrics? No, but it does cause the listener to spontaneously combust to an awesome beat. Light me up Tay Tay, light me up.

Favourite Lyrics: I can feel the flames on my skin/Crimson-red paint on my lips (basically all of the pre-chorus)


Don’t Blame Me

If I replay this song a million times when you come over to my house, don’t blame me. If music was an addiction, this would be the heroin. Or cocaine? This is a song I would definitely be playing for the rest of my life. Never ceases to get me “high”. Every time I listen to this song, I feel like acting out dramatically. Starts off a bit slow, then picks up. Magnificent. Nothing can save me from the glory of this song.

Favourite Lyrics: I once was poison ivy but now I’m your daisy


Delicate

This song is graceful, light, like petals flowing in the breeze. Despite the name, this song is more than just delicate. Listening to it, I am transported to a world of bliss and yearning and comfort. In my opinion, this is an underrated single. Not her most underrated single, but underrated nevertheless. It’s vulnerable, soft, desirable. Phenomenal, end of story.

Favourite Lyrics: Long night, with your hands up in my hair/Echoes of your footsteps on the stairs/Stay here, honey, I don't wanna share


Look What You Made Me Do

Let’s clear the air out - the chorus lyrics have no depth to them. Just a repetition of “look what you made me do”. Wooo. As if we didn’t already know what the song was about. It is STILL super catchy and I still will always love it. Quite honestly, I love it more now that it’s not constantly being played. Perfect song to workout to, hype you up or just jam out to.

Favourite Lyrics: But I got smarter, I got harder in the nick of time (because it gives me confidence)


So It Goes…

This song cuts me into pieces - in a good way. I’m so caught up in the moment whenever I listen to it. It’s an enjoyable track. With sensual lyrics and sound too, Taylor Swift is maturing into her own.

Favourite Lyrics: Wear you like a necklace/I'm so chill, but you make me jealous/But I got your heart/Skippin', skip, skippin' when I'm gone


Gorgeous

This song? It’s GORGEOUS. Okay not really a pun but this goes without saying. I relate to this on a spiritual level. Can’t talk to a crush because their beauty is so stunning? Me practically everyday. The lyrics aren’t poetic but they perfectly capture the feeling of being smitten - so no complaints here.

Favourite Lyrics: Guess I'll just stumble on home to my cats (cats, no explanation needed) and… Ocean blue eyes looking in mine/I feel like I might sink and drown and die


Getaway Car

Whenever I listen to this song, I have the urgency to pull the ultimate heist… AHEM I MEAN blast it in the car on a road trip, or to anywhere. The intro lyrics bring us into the song… and by the end we come full circle. Good lyrics, good vibes, good production overall.

Favourite Lyrics: It was the great escape, the prison break/The light of freedom on my face


King Of My Heart

This is a song that gets better with every listen. My fave? No, but the tune is pleasant to listen to. Makes me want someone to be the king of my heart… Anyone?

Favourite Lyrics: Late in the night, the city's asleep/Your love is a secret I'm hoping, dreaming, dying to keep


Dancing With Our Hands Tied

I. Love. This. Song. At first loved it in secret, but it grew on me. Brings in some 1989 vibes but truly fits into the Reputation era. The song grows with power and at this point, I could survive only listening to this song for the rest of my life.

Favourite Lyrics: My, my love had been frozen/Deep blue, but you painted me golden and So, baby, can we dance/Oh, through an avalanche?


Dress

This song makes me want to slow dance sensually with a romantic partner… or something more. Very sexy. Soft vocals that are mildly sultry as well. Explores the desires we want in a romantic relationship, the passion - but in a softer way. The style the song is in makes it so precious, impactful on our emotions.

Favourite Lyrics: There is an indentation/In the shape of you/Made your mark on me/A golden tattoo


This Is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things

PETTY AT ITS FINEST. Brings back Better Than Revenge vibes from Speak Now. Makes me appreciate my friends and those who care about me. Also makes me feel like I should treat myself with more respect. Empowering. Legendary.

Favourite Lyrics: But I'm not the only friend you've lost lately/If only you weren't so shady - that shade though


Call It What You Want

This song. This song. Call it what you want, but this song is one of Taylor’s best (pun intended). Reminds me of a simpler Taylor, with her older songs like Love Story, Enchanted and Begin Again. I honestly do not think any review would do justice to this song.

Favourite Lyrics: It was EXTREMELY hard choosing favourite lyrics for this song. But here are my fave three (in no particular order)

Starry eyes sparking up my darkest night

"You don't need to save me/But would you run away with me?" - actually come to think of it, this is probably my favourite

All my flowers grew back as thorns/Windows boarded up after the storm/He built a fire just to keep me warm


New Year’s Day

A fabulous end to a fabulous album. Though this is the album’s final album, it gives hope for the future, for a new beginning. The piano background blends perfectly with Taylor’s melodic voice, calming in a sense. To some extent, it reminds me of Old Taylor, with a vibe similar to All Too Well - but less tragic. This is a new beginning, and Taylor has masterfully continued to flourish and polish her musical genius.

Favourite Lyrics: Hold on to the memories, they will hold on to you/And I will hold on to you

29 views0 comments
bottom of page